Iran Travel
Iran Travel Agency & Tour Operator, Your travel guide for travel to Iran.
Latest Posts


Markazi Province, the medieval Iraq-i Ajam, more recently Arak—is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. The word markazi means central in Persian.

Its capital is Arak. Its population is estimated at 1.41 million. The present borders of the province date to the 1977, when the province was split into the current Markazi and the Tehran Province, with portions being annexed by Esfahan, Semnan Province, and Zanjan.The major cities of the province are: Saveh, Arak, Mahallat, Zarandiyeh, Khomein, Delijan, Tafresh, Ashtian, Shazand (previously known as Sarband) and Farahan.

Markazi province was part of the Median Empire in the first millennium BC, which included all of the central and western parts of modern-day Iran. The region is considered to be one of the ancient settlements on the Iranian plateau. Numerous remaining ruins testify to the antiquity of this area.
In the early centuries Islam, the name of the area was changed to Jibal or Qahestan. By the early 10th century, Khorheh had become a famous city of Jibal province, followed by Tafresh and Khomein.

Saveh County is a county in Markazi Province in Iran. The capital of the county is Saveh. At the 2011 census, the county’s population was 259,030 people. The county is subdivided into two districts: the Central District and Nowbaran District. The county has three cities: Saveh, Nowbaran, and Gharqabad.

Geocoding for Markazi, Iran: 34.0954°N 49.6909°E


You don't have permission to register