Iran Travel
Iran Travel Agency & Tour Operator, Your travel guide for travel to Iran.
Latest Posts


Qom Province is one of the 31 provinces of Iran with 11,237 km², covering 0.89% of the total area in Iran. It is in the north of the country, and its provincial capital is the city of Qom. It was formed from part of Tehran Province in 1995.

The province contains one city, four counties, nine rural districts, and 256 villages.The province was put as part of Region 1 upon the division of the provinces into 5 regions solely for coordination and development purposes on June 22, 2014.

The climate of Qom province varies between a desert and semi-desert climate, and comprises mountainous areas, foothills and plains. Due to being located near an arid region and far inland, it experiences a dry climate, with low humidity and scanty rainfall. Thus, agriculture is not possible in most of its areas, especially near the salt lake regions. Qom province has two large salt lakes, namely: Howz e Soltan Lake, which lies 36 km due north of Qom, and Namak Lake, which lies 80 km due east of Qom. Nearly a fifth of Namak Lake lies within Qom province.

Today, Qom is considered one of the focal centers of the Shiite sect of Islam. Its theological center and the Holy Shrine of Hazrat Ma’soomeh are prominent features of the provincial capital of Qom. Outside the city is Jamkaran, another site of religious pilgrimages.

Geocoding for Qom, Iran: 34.6456°N 50.8798°E


You don't have permission to register